Story and Soul

I get this deeply unsatisfied feeling whenever I watch Tamil movies these days. Though the movies, to an extent, has come out of meaningless punch dialogues, kuthu songs and other disgusting factors which were once prevailed commonly across all movies, I still feel something is being purposefully missed out in movies these days.

The last three movies (Vishwaroopam, David, Kadal) that I watched with huge expectations have been a big blow to me. Though these movies sound sensible on the shell, it lacked the essence. These movies carry just the stories and there is no such thing called soul in it.  I mean, earlier when I watch a Vikram’s or Manirathnam’s movie, I would think about it –in a admiring way -for at least two days. And I would re-watch it. However, these recent releases have left me in utter bewilderment. To my horror, I forgot the storyline on the next day morning.

When I discussed ‘Vishwaroopam’ with some of my friends, they compared Kamal’s technical brilliance with Hollywood. Now this is a moot point and I am at loss always. I enquired them that so and so scenes were not elaborated in detail which leads to lots of confusion, one person promptly advised me that in Hollywood they wont explain silly details. You just need to suppose and sail through the story. I really fail to understand why should I watch a Tamil movie keeping Hollywood standards in mind? It would rather be easier for me to watch Hollywood film directly no? Anyway, I asked my friend whether she understood what nuclear oncology means? For which she was surprised and blinked!

While I am still staggering with not-so-nationally-important-Vishwaroopam in my life, I committed other two sins, which made me even more pessimistic about movies.

David – I seriously don’t understand why Vikram is so drunk in the movie and acts thoroughly weird throughout. Never seen Vikram in such dumb character before. That bloke’s talent has entirely been spoiled.  While Vikram was busy drinking, another David (Jeeva) tries to seek justice for his father’s humiliation.  Finally when Jeeva succumbs to non-violence, viola! He was saved and he becomes father in church. Of course, none of this made any sense to me.

Kadal – I seriously couldn’t believe this was made by the legend ‘MANIRATNAM’. One should have seen the horror in my face while I watched the climax of this movie when the hero states his reason for forgiving Arjun for his sins. Gosh !!!! Perhaps Arjun could be the only actor who can overact even in Mani’s movie. Anyway! If not for AR Rahman’s music, Kadal would have probably drowned by itself. Forget the past two movies, Kadal was just too much. Please watch it yourself and decide.

Finally, why all these stories suddenly got this compulsive-religious-syndrome crap in it. Can’t they give GOD (if he exist) a break and concentrate on story and its soul instead?

I think I like the movie Attakathi far better than these. Probably I had very low expectations then.

3 thoughts on “Story and Soul

  1. //Now this is a moot point and I am at loss always. I enquired them that so and so scenes were not elaborated in detail which leads to lots of confusion, one person promptly advised me that in Hollywood they wont explain silly details.// இது ஓரளவு உண்மை தான். சிலபல படங்கள் பார்த்துபின்னாடி விக்கில படிச்சாத்தான் புரியும். இல்லாட்டி முன்னாடியே விக்கிய படிச்சிட்டு படத்த பார்க்கணும்.

    இதுமாதிரி உத்தி தமிழ்ச் சிறுகதைகளையும் இருக்குமே. ஒருத்தன் செத்துட்டான்னு எழுதவே மாட்டாங்க. அவன் செத்துட்டானான்னு படிக்கிறவனுக்கு நேரடியா புரியாது. நான் சில முறை நண்பர்கள்கிட்ட படிக்கச் சொல்லி, ‘அவன் செத்துட்டான்’ தானேன்னு உறுதி பண்ணிக்கொண்டிருக்கிறேன். இலக்கியம் தெரிஞ்ச ஒரு நபர் சொன்னார் “எல்லாத்தையும் black and whiteஆ சொல்லிட்டா அப்புறம் வாசகனுக்கு அந்தக் கதை ஒரு தாக்கத்தை ஏற்படுத்தாது. அதனால தான் இப்படி” :-)

    • Yes, I too have read many novels handling these techniques. However, Books and films are different. If we are struck in novel, we can always stop reading go back to Internet or other sources to clarify our doubts/ understand the terminologies. Whereas movies are 2.5 hour journey. And when you watch it in the theatre, you will be struck with bewildering story if not shown properly.

Leave a Reply

