Memoirs of Geisha by Arthur Goldern

“Memoirs of Geisha” – Considering this name, I refrained myself from reading this book for a long time assuming it would be one of those dark life story which would plunge you in to the pit of sorrow and demands immediate Wodehouse stuff to regain all your lost bright mood. But mistaken, I was. Yes the book did demands its reader to be somber at some point, but not exactly depressing.

Geisha- who are mistaken to prostitutes – are in fact highly skilled Japanese entertainers, whose skills include various arts such as music, dance …etc. This book unfolds a moving story of, how life transforms an innocent village girl “Chiyo” to a famous successful Geisha “Sayuri”. The story begins with chiyo , a nine year old gal, being sold to geisha-house due to poverty. Through her eyes, the hardships concealed behind the magnificent world of geisha, is revealed poignantly when the story crosses each stages of her life.

Most unexpectedly the story was very gripping. For such a story line, I expected it to take a week to complete but it took only 2 days. For a person like me, who toured Japan only on atlas, this book gives a detail account on dramatic lifestyle of Japanese geishas and their traditions. Though the storyline seems to have a touch of sadness, it did end happily with one of those melodramatic and filmy climaxes, which I felt a big dark mark on the white sheet. Except the exaggerating climax, the book was awesome.

15 thoughts on “Memoirs of Geisha by Arthur Goldern

  1. @vani – as im weak in peter, these kinda books dint interest me (but read whole hp series and some dan brown’s though). will see the movie… its available in torrent as originally pirated versions….little trivia – the movie won 3 oscars

  2. @vani – as im weak in peter, these kinda books dint interest me (but read whole hp series and some dan brown’s though). will see the movie… its available in torrent as originally pirated versions.. little trivia – the movie won 3 oscars

  3. @Anand, well I think I expected it to be too gloomy like those Russian novels. Don’t know where I got that idea …but at the end I find it was not that miserable …especially after the climax …

    @KK, yeah I too heard it was an Oscar winning movie. My torrent speed is hopelessly slow. The other day I saw it on HBO, but didn’t watch the entire movie. I should keep an eye on that channel. Otherwise should download and watch it

    PS – I am a one of those crazy fan of HP …I like Dan brown too. Yet to watch angels and demons…

  4. @vani – angels and demons is good. Jus lik tamil masala movie. You can visit the HBO website to knw the schedule.

    p.s. //My torrent speed is hopelessly slow// wat is ur bandwith…

  5. @KK, It is downloading at the rate of 20 – 23 kbps

    @nks, I have read Alchemist and eleven minutes. For me Alchemist was a disappointment. Eleven minutes was intriguing. Should try Zahir…

    @Siddharth, welcome back after a long time. I hope your exams went well !

  6. @vani – i asked ur net speed, 128 or 256 or 512kbps???? i hope u knw the settings for dwnloading torrents.. if no, jus set the upload rate to automatic….

  7. Haven’t read this book yet, but plan to do so very soon.
    And if you’re a fan of HP, you should check out the series I’m doing on HP on my book club blog. I’d love to have your comments.

Leave a Reply

