A Recap

Some 370 days back, on the last week of 2008, while I was so seriously surfing Orkut to improve befriending  skills, I glanced at one of the forums, the word “Wordpress”. There it was mentioned “Wordpress is better than blogspot”. This aroused my female curiosity. If something is better than something else, then that “something” is surely deserved to be looked for. So I submitted the word “Wordpress” to Google.  The rest is history. I mean, that’s how this blog happened.

I happily named this blog “Vaniquest”,  because “quest” is one of my desktop folder name then, where I had saved all my old resumes , and I prefixed Vani to that folder name, thinking, it would be a self motivation to start a blog.

It was tough at the beginning, I mean to write. The fingers which had never, ever written anything except the school essays, college exams,  Aptitude test at Interviews and later typed endless profound technical emails, simply refused, or shall I say forgot , to write what I really wanted it to write. That was the time I was envious of the authors who could churn out some 1200 page novel from a single, simple plot line. Ghastly days, but I guess, I managed it. Bravely.

I started to write.  How Buddha felt when he reached enlightenment under a pupil tree, I know not, But I could guess, his feelings must have closely resembled mine when I posted my first official blog post.  I still remember, all the day, i.e on 27th Dec 2008, the day of my first post, I beamed like an Olympic Gold Medalist who had won the game without actually having any clue on what the game is all about. Yes, that’s how I felt.  Stupid in fact, but true.

Though I felt like an gold medalist and all, I dared not to confess this blog to my kith and kin for few months, for the fear of not wanting to be stoned to death at the young age of life. But the initial feeble support gave by this blog readers, in the form of comments, really made me all steel and made me announce my kinfolks, the other side of me. Some were horrified. Some were excited. Some were not able to grasp what “blog” is all about. Those excited ones, of course,  told  I am crazy and then encouraged me.  That’s all I wanted, seriously,  and not the stones. Ever since, I have been wasting considerable time of mine in this blog, with the hope, I will waste others time as well by making them to read this.  All is going well, so far. Fine.

I Thank, Thank and Thank you all for reading this blog. You never know what you have done to me. Before I get all senti. , let me say “Happy New year” and end this post.

8 thoughts on “A Recap

  1. Happy Anniversary Vaniquest,
    I’ve read almost all your posts and visited your blog at least once in a day as RSS is blocked in my office.

  2. “Ever since, I have been wasting considerable time of mine in this blog, with the hope, I will waste others time as well by making them to read this” So far you have wasted 8220 people time🙂 as per your blog stats…. good luck🙂

  3. Congrats and wish you a very happy new year….

    “I dared not to confess this blog to my kith and kin for few months” – liked this …Most of my friends still don’t know I write a blog🙂.

  4. @Prabhu, Thank you !

    @Sathish, Thank you. Poor people. En blog-um padikiranga😉 ennalla namba mudiyala ..

    @Pradeep Thank you. Do tell your friends, they will give you lots of surprise in turn. When I told ‘I blog’ , one of my friend asked innocently ‘Is that a game or something ?’ …

Leave a Reply

