Want to Whack ?

Yesterday, an announcement caught my attention. “Wanna Whack ? “ it said.

Blogadda , one of the most prominent blog promoting sites, suddenly found out that its bloggers has been consistently tempted to whack people around them. “This shouldn’t have gone unnoticed”, they decided. Thus they declared a contest, to bring out all those divine moments when their dear bloggers were on the verge of beating others.

In a day of 24 hours, it is indeed difficult to dig out the incidents that demanded my whacks.

Here I recollected few of them in the order it had happened …

hit

Today , with the sudden awareness to adorn myself and become a beauty , I wanted to equip me with necessary stuffs. Thence I set out for shopping.  As soon as my toes touched the street, a plastic cricket ball whacked my head. This is the precise moment when the first thought of violence stroke my heart gently. A crude boy’s loud voice and that followed laughter made my head focused on the direction it came. Someone laughing at me had never been a good sight. I averted the gaze and proceeded to stroll.

Without a shame of being hit by a ball,  I walked in to the railway station briskly and asked for a ticket to “Mambalam”. The guy over the counter told me to not come to the counter if I had intention to buy a 5 rupees ticket with a 100 rupee note. Subsequently, he expressed to me his views on general public whose attitude were much like mine, which caused me to miss the train I had hoped to catch. Whacking will not prevent problems, I told myself.

With the shopping spirit slightly drenched, I got in to the train. That is when a sharp pain shot through my spine. I clutched the lady nearby to avoid reeling down. She said, “Sorry it is my high heels”, pointing towards something sharp that had gone down deeply into my feet. This is not a moment to suppress everything and smile like Gandhi, I thought. If I am to save myself form this brutal world whose only intention is to cause me pain, then all that is needed out from me now is to take a bit of violence at my own hands and hit this young lady who deserves it. Before I complete the examination of feasibility of my thoughts, the entity which had caused me such pain was gone. She, it seems, got down from the train, while I was busy thinking about “Gandhi and violence”.

I staggered into the crowed train and found a seat at last. A girl of my age smiled at me thrice for some mysterious reason. Ten more minutes passed , with me catching more polite smiles from her. Then she spoke.

‘Can I have your mobile for a minute ? , I need to make a urgent call‘

I looked at her doubtfully.  Could this be another game of fate to abuse me ? , I asked myself. The girl smiled again. All the self doubts vanished. Of course, I was irritated on the events, fate had imposed on me. However, that cannot put me down and make my heart deny even this smallest favor. I let her take my beautiful mobile.

Leaving this materialistic world momentarily , the girl spoke dreamily to someone. The train stopped. A voice of refined quality, whose origin no one knows,  shouted the name of the station where the train halted. This brought back her senses to the real world . She stood abruptly, hopped twice, dropped my mobile and said – “oh my god, this is where I have to get down”. In the next fleeting second, she vanished.

I took the mobile from the floor with a regretful eyes and heavy heart. I found hard to understand the people who are so insistent on being beaten up by me, though I failed to hit them.

Moments later, I got down from the train that drained me. I went to the nearby shop to get some coke to refresh the lost mood. I noticed the missing wallet. Mind was too puzzled to mull over. It failed to figure out , whether I missed the wallet,  or , didn’t bring it from home at all. It was the turn to whack myself.

23 thoughts on “Want to Whack ?

  1. Hey..what an awesome post..Though the incidences may be ubiquitous, the narration has multiplied their wittiness. Very well written and good to see an old timer in the blogosphere..ATB for the contest🙂

  2. Wanna Whack? Whacky Contest Winners announced

  3. Came here through Blogadda. Congratulations for winning the contest. Really great post. People are so inconsiderate sometimes that you feel like whacking them.

    The heel incident has happened with me as well…these people do not have the simple courtesy to even say ‘Sorry’.

  4. you really kept cool after all that…and why do you have to be so kind hearted to allow someone to use your mobile… i certainly would have whacked them🙂
    nice post😀

  5. ROFL at your narration. Congrats for winning this contest. A truly deserved one at that. I think I will have to dig into your archives to read more of you.

  6. Hi,

    I saw ur post selected in the contest of Blog adda. Hearty congratulations. The post is really awesome and deserves the praise. It sounds quite funny that so many things happened on a single day. Hope it won’t be repeated much often. Btw, the narration is quite interesting. Great work … keep writing

    Regards,
    Manikanth.P.
    insights2day.blogspot.com

  7. @Rajalakshmi, @Sakshi , @Sunitha, @Manikanth, @Galen Walker,@Ashwini, @Annapoorani @Sharmila

    Thank you everyone !

    @Annapoorani,

    I have added a feed button for convenience.

  8. ROTFL.. That was a really funny post, Vani, though it wouldn’t have been funny for you, am sure..🙂 congrats on winning the contest! I’m whacking myself on the head now for not knowing you’ve been writing a blog.. Going to catch up now by reading everything. Work can wait.😉

Leave a Reply

